Hair loss in women
It is estimated that one out of five women experience baldness. Some factors leading to baldness in women are aging, disease, and hormonal changes occurring after menopause. Hair loss in women happens due to a lack of hair density, resulting in the scalp to become visible. Some women attempt to treat their thinning hair before considering hair transplantation. They may use wigs or place fake hair on their scalps, while others try taking medicine prescribed by a specialist. Usually, the effectiveness of these medications varies from a woman to woman, although, they may prevent and stop the hair loss of the remaining hair without stimulating new hair growth. Some women are not satisfied with such solutions, so they consider hair transplantation.

Detailed causes of hair loss in women
Hair is one of the main components of beauty, especially among women, and any change, therefore, may affect their lives and characters. In some cultures, a woman’s hair is a representation of her beauty. This fact encouraged many companies to manufacture hair products, including hair dyes, hair styling and maintenance products; unfortunately, resulting in many women experiencing hair loss.
Most causes of hair loss come from external factors, blood diseases, dietary reasons and others related to hormones.
External factors: include the excessive and uneducated use of commercial chemical products, which affects hair growth and changes its qualities, such as its texture, color, and flexibility. These products include hair dyes that have a high content of alkaline substances. Additionally, medical conditions requiring the use of anti-hyperlipidemia drugs, gout medications, anti-coagulation or anti-blood clotting drugs, and medications used to control the thyroid gland or to treat some types of cancer, can lead to hair loss. Such hair loss cases may be treated by using fewer chemical materials or products, and after consulting, and with the approval of, a medical specialist, abstaining from the mentioned drugs, if medically possible.
Anemia: iron deficiency affects hair growth, causing hair loss, this may happen in the cases of chronic diseases, during pregnancy and lactation. In such cases, you must first conduct medical tests to determine the proportion of iron in blood and if found deficient, use iron pills and monitor iron levels.
Endocrine disturbance: the thyroid gland is a critical factor in controlling hair growth and hair loss, any disturbance in its function, increase or decrease, affects the hair. In thyroid hyper-activity (excessive production of thyroid hormone), hair loss becomes widespread and hair texture becomes smooth and thin, while in the case of hypo-activity (reduced production of thyroid hormone), hair becomes coarse and thick, and is associated with hair loss from the head, the pubic area and the outer third of the eyebrows. The treatment for reduced secretions of thyroid hormone (hypothyroid) is to take medications that assist the gland to maintain a normal range of thyroid hormone. In cases of increased secretions (hyperthyroid) incurably, patients may require surgical treatment. In all cases of thyroid dysfunction, consulting a medical specialist is critical.
Reasons related to hormones: there are two reasons hormones cause hair loss in women: a lack of female hormones (estrogen), usually occurs after giving birth and during menopause, and increased male hormones (testosterone), usually starts after menopause. These disorders occur in the following cases:
a. Postnatal: during pregnancy there will be an increased rate of female sex hormone (estradiol), which keeps the hair growth and then declines after giving birth, causing hair loss.
This is a common temporary situation and the body returns to normal after a short period without medication; however, women may take vitamins and iron to strengthen their bodies.
b. Hair loss during menopause: light hair loss occurs after menopause due to estrogen deficiency, the treatment in such cases is to compensate for this deficiency. It is helpful to take vitamins and use estrogen-rich materials for washing the hair.
c. Increased male hormones: like during menopause, increased male hormones may be relative and due to a lack of balance between the female hormones which have decreased or due to an excessive secretion of these hormones, which may occur in certain cases like polycystic ovarian syndrome. Patients with these cases may have coarse hair on the face and other areas on the body; the treatment usually is to use anti-androgens with female hormones (estradiol).
d. Hair loss related to contraceptive pills: usually, contraceptive pills do not cause hair loss, but in some cases, they cause anemia resulting from lacking folic acid, which may lead to hair loss. Treatment is usually to take folic acid to treat the anemia.

Hair transplantation for women
Before explaining the hair transplantation process, first, we have to understand what hair consists of. Each strand of hair consists of a root and a hair shaft. The root is located under the scalp or skin and is surrounded by a greasy cover, or bulb, at the end of the root of each hair, which passes nutrition to the hair. The hair shaft is the apparent part of each hair, which protrudes from the skin and consists of a package of soft fiber surrounded by a protein layer, similar to the protein layer of the nails and the outer layer of the skin.
There are about 100,000 hair bulbs at a rate of 100 bulbs per square centimeter in the scalp. Each bulb contains one or several hair strands, which makes the hair thick or thin. The normal daily hair loss is between 50-100 strands, which die and fall to be replaced by new ones, but if the hair loss rate increased more than that, then hair loss becomes a disease that requires treatment.
Hair transplantation procedure for women is implemented by taking multiple follicles from the back of the patient’s scalp, since this area is not usually affected by hair loss, and then these follicles are replanted in the areas with hair loss.

There are two techniques of hair transplantation for women
• FUT (Follicular Unit Transplantation) technique
This technique is based on taking the transverse slice of the scalp at the back of the head, then dividing it to many small segments; each one of them has one or two bulbs. Then the specialist doctor draws a layout showing the points where bulbs have to be planted. The specialist makes a small cut or a hole around (1 mm) to plant the slice. A disadvantage of this technique is that there will be a permanent scar at the area where the slice was taken; however, it will not be apparent under the hair.

• FUE (Follicular Unit Extraction) technique
This technique is considered the most current, widespread and developed because it does not result in a scar like the FUT technique. Although there will not be any scar, it is considered the most expensive technique. The FUE and FUT techniques have a different approach to taking hair bulbs. Using the FUE technique, the specialist takes the whole bulb from the back of the head by using special needles and then replants it according to the layout specified for the hair transplantation at the front of the head.

تساقط الشعر عند المرأة

تقدّر نسبة حدوث الصلع بين النساء بحالة صلع واحدة بين كل خمس سيدات، ويأتي عامل التقدّم في السن من بين الأسباب المؤدية إلى ذلك.  بالإضافة إلى عوامل أخرى مثل الإصابة بمرض ما، أو التغيّرات هرمونية التي تحدث بعد سن انقطاع الدورة (سن اليأس). ويكون تساقط الشعر عند المرأة في صورة قلةٍ في كثافته بحيث تظهر الفروة. وتلجأ بعض السيدات لعلاج ذلك قبل اللجوء إلى زراعة الشعر من خلال عدة أمور؛ مثل لبس الشعر المستعار أو وضع خصلات شعر ولصقها، وبعضهن يلجأن إلى تناول العقاقير والأدوية التي يصفها طبيب مختص، وتختلف فاعلية هذه الأدوية من امرأة لأخرى،  إلا أن تلك العقاقير يقتصر عملها فقط على منع وتوقيف تساقط الشعر المتبقي دون أن تحفز على نمو الشعر من جديد. وقد لا تقتنع بعض السيدات بمثل هذه الحلول فيلجأن إلى زراعة الشعر.

أسباب تساقط الشعر عند المرأة بالتفصيل:

يعتبر شعر المرأة أحد أهم علامات جاذبية وجمال المرأة، وهو أحد المكونات الرئيسية التي يكتمل بها الجمال وخاصة لدى النساء، وإن أي تغيير فيه يمكن أن يؤثر على حياتهن وشخصياتهنّ، ومن هنا برز اهتمام الكثير من الشركات بتصنيع مركبات للشعر تختلف من المستحضرات التي تُعنى بالتلوين إلى المحافظة عليه إلى التثبيت وما إلى ذلك. ونتيجة لذلك لوحظ أن الكثير من النساء بدأن يشتكين من تساقط الشعر.
أهم أسباب تساقط الشعر هي العوامل الخارجية وأمراض الدم وأسباب غذائية وأخرى هرمونية؛ نسردها بالتفصيل:
العوامل الخارجية: تتمثل في استخدام المركبات الكيماوية التجارية بشكل مفرط وعشوائي يؤثر على نمو الشعر ويغير صفاته كملمسه وليونته وبريقه مثل صبغات الشعر الحاوية على نسبة عالية من المواد القلوية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن استعمال الأدوية المنقصة للشحوم وأدوية معالجة النقرس ومضادات تخثر الدم والعقاقير المستخدمة للتحكم في الغدة الدرقية أو لمعالجة بعض أنواع السرطان تؤثر على نمو الشعر، ويمكن معالجة هذه الحالات بالاعتدال في استخدام مواد زينة الشعر والامتناع عن الأدوية المذكورة ما أمكن بعد استشارة الطبيب المختص.

فقر الدم: فيؤثر نقص الحديد على نمو الشعر ويسبب تساقطه في حالات الأمراض المزمنة وأثناء الحمل والرضاعة، وفي مثل هذه الحالات يجب أولاً إجراء الفحوصات الطبية لمعرفة نسبة الحديد في الدم ثم إعطاء حبوب الحديد ومتابعة مستوى الحديد في الدم.

اضطراب الغدد الصم (الغدة الدرقية): تعد الغدة الدرقية ضرورية جداً للتحكم بالشعر، فأي اختلال في نشاطها من زيادة أو نقصان يؤثر على الشعر، ففي فرط النشاط يكون التساقط بشكل منتشر ويصبح ملمس الشعر ناعماً ودقيقاً، أما في نقص إفرازاتها فيكون ملمس الشعر خشناً وسميكاً ويترافق مع تساقط الشعر من الرأس ومنطقة العانة والزاويتين الخارجيتين للحاجبين.
وعلاج ذلك يتم بضبط هرمون الغدة الدرقية ليكون ضمن معدله الطبيعي عن طريق تناول العلاج الدوائي. أما في حالات فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية المستعصي فغالباً ما يستدعي ذلك تدخلاً جراحياً.

الأسباب المتعلقة بالهرمونات الجنسية: فهناك سببان يؤديان إلى تساقط الشعر عند المرأة وهما: نقص هرمونات الأنوثة الأستروجين ويحدث هذا عقب الولادة وفي سن اليأس، وكذلك زيادة هرمونات الذكورة التي تبدأ عادةً بعد سن اليأس، وتحدث هذه الاضطراب كما يلي:

أ- بعد الولادة: خلال الحمل يرتفع معدل هرمون الأنوثة (استراديول) الذي يحافظ على نمو الشعر ثم ينخفض بعد الولادة مما يسبب تساقطاً للشعر.
وتعد هذه الحالة طبيعية ولا تدوم طويلاً وسرعان ما يستعيد الجسم توازنه الطبيعي دون تدخل علاجي، كما يمكن استخدام الفيتامينات ومركبات الحديد لمساعدة الجسم على استعادة حيويته.

ب- تساقط الشعر في سن اليأس: يحدث التساقط بعد سن اليأس بشكل خفيف وبسيط نظراً لنقص هرمون الاستروجين ويكون العلاج في هذه الحالات بتعويض النقص. ومن المفيد في هذه الحالة تناول الفيتامينات المقوية واستخدام مواد غسل الشعر التي تحتوي على نسبة معينة من الاستروجينات.

ج- زيادة هرمونات الذكورة: قد تكون هذه الزيادة نسبية كما هو الحال في سن اليأس لانعدام التوازن بين هرمونات الأنوثة التي تخف أو نتيجة لفرط إفراز هذه الهرمونات الذي قد يحدث في بعض الحالات المرضية كتكيس المبايض، ويلاحظ عند هؤلاء المرضى ظهور شعر خشن في الوجه ومناطق أخرى من الجسم، ويكون العلاج باستخدام مضادات الاندروجينات مع مركبات الهرمونات الأنثوية الاسترادويل.

د- تساقط الشعر أثر تناول حبوب منع الحمل: لا تسبب حبوب منع الحمل تساقط الشعر إلا أنه في بعض الحالات تسبب في فقر الدم الناتج عن نقص حمض الفوليك الذي قد يؤدي إلى تساقط الشعر. وبالتالي يكمن العلاج في تعويض حمض الفوليك لمعالجة فقر الدم.

عملية زراعة الشعر للنساء
قبل شرح ماهيّة عملية زراعة الشعر يجب أولاً أن ندرك مما يتكون الشعر، يتكون الشعر من جذر وساق. الجذر هو الجزء الموجود تحت فروة الرأس أو الجلد ويكون محاطاً بغلاف دهنيٍّ ويوجد في نهايته البصيلة التي تمرر الغذاء للشعرة، أما الساق فهو الجزء الظاهر من الشعرة فوق الجلد ويتكون من حزمة من الألياف اللينة والمحاطة بطبقة بروتينية كالتي تتكون منها الأظافر والطبقة الخارجية من الجلد.
يوجد في فروة الرأس حوالي مائة ألف بصيلة بمعدل 100 بصيلة في السنتيمتر المربع الواحد، وتحتوي كل بصيلة على شعرة واحدة أو عدة شعيرات مما يجعل الشعر كثيفاً أو لا. يتساقط من الشعر يومياً بين 50-100 شعرة ويعتبر ذلك معدلاً طبيعياً لتساقط الشعر، حيث تموت هذه الشعيرات وتتجدد شعيرات أخرى، ولكن إذا زاد المعدل عن ذلك أصبح تساقط الشعر مرضاً يحتاج إلى علاج.
تتم عملية زراعة الشعر للنساء عن طريق أخذ عدة بصيلات من مؤخرة رأس المريضة، حيث أن هذه المنطقة لا تتأثر بتساقط الشعر وتظل بصيلاتها في حالة جيدة، ومن ثم تتم إعادة زراعة هذه البصيلات في أماكن فقدان الشعر.

هناك تقنيتان لعملية زراعة الشعر للنساء

تقنية الشريحة FUT

تعتمد هذه التقنية على أخذ شريحة عرضية من مؤخرة فروة الرأس، ثم يتم تقسيم هذه الشريحة إلى عدة شرائح صغيرة بكل منها بصيلة أو اثنتين، بعد ذلك يقوم الطبيب برسم خريطة لتدرج زراعة الشعر، ثم يتم تحديد الأماكن التي سوف يتم زراعة الشعر بها، وفي كل مكان لزراعة الشعر يتم عمل فتحة بقطر (1) مليمتر لغرز الشرائح  فيها. ولكن ما يعيب هذه التقنية هو أنها تترك ندبة دائمة ولكن غير ظاهرة تحت الشعر في مكان أخذ الشريحة من مؤخرة الرأس.

تقنية الاقتطاف FUE

تعتبر هذه التقنية هي الأحدث والأكثر انتشاراً وتطوراً في الوقت الحالي وذلك لأنها تتلافى العيوب التي تسببها التقنية الأولى FUT، فلا أثر لندبات أو ما شابه، ولكنها تعتبر الأكثر تكلفة. وتختلف تقنية الاقتطاف عن تقنية الشريحة في طريقة أخذ البصيلات، حيث يقوم الطبيب باستخراج بصيلات كاملة باستخدام إبر معينة من مؤخرة فروة الرأس، ثم يقوم بإعادة زراعتها مرة أخرى وفقاً للخريطة المحددة لزراعة الشعر في مقدمة الرأس.